Special Education Local Plan Area (SELPA)

The Mendocino County SELPA serves approximately 1,695 students. For the School Year 2017-18, the total ADA for Mendocino County is 12,254.2.

There are approximately 133 SELPAs in the State, ranging in size from those fewer than a 1,000 students to those serving more than 10,000 students. Each SELPA must have an Administrative Unit (AU) which is the legal entity that receives funds and is responsible for seeing that every eligible child received a Free Appropriate Public Education (FAPE). The Mendocino County Office of Education is the AU for the Mendocino County SELPA.

The Mendocino County SELPA provides support to the districts in the following areas:

  • Program Development
  • Program Availability to all Students with Disabilities
  • Professional Development
  • Parent Support and Training
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Interagency Collaboration
  • Management Information System (MIS)
  • Fiscal Allocation and Monitoring

For additional information or resources please contact SELP staff at (707) 467-5166.

MISSION

The mission of the Mendocino County SELPA is to support special education students in achieving a high level of academic/functional performance according to national, state, and local standards. To assure this outcome, the SELPA department will provide information, resources and support to students, parents, and all schools within our county.

VISION

All students can learn and students with disabilities must be given an equal opportunity to become contributing members of their community. We hope that you utilize our website to access information about disabilities, procedural safeguards and other useful information to assist parents, children, schools, and educators.

STAFF

Inland Office

Barbara Bloom, Executive Director

SELPA

Phone: (707) 467-5167

Fax: (707) 463-4898

Email: bbloom@mcoe.us

Debbie Rogers, Program Administrator

SELPA

Phone: (707) 467-5170

Email: drogers@mcoe.us

Melinda Maxwell, Administrative Secretary II

SELPA

Phone: (707) 467-5166

Email: mmaxwell@mcoe.us

Denise Keller, Behavioral Specialist

SELPA

Phone: (707) 467-5169

Email: dkeller@mcoe.us

Michela Figini-Meyers, Program Specialist

SELPA

Phone: (707) 467-5175

Email: michela@mcoe.us

Ryan Weidaw, Program Specialist

SELPA

Phone: (707) 467-5196

Email: rweidaw@mcoe.us

Gina Danner, Program Specialist

SELPA

Phone: (707) 467-5178

Email: gdanner@mcoe.us

Kristina Lewis, Program Manager, TPP/Workability

SELPA

Phone: (707) 467-5171

Email: klewis@mcoe.us

Teresa Erickson, Program Secretary, TPP/Workability

SELPA

Phone: (707) 467-5176

Email: terickson@mcoe.us

Coast Office

Veronica Bazor, Administrative Secretary - Coast

Superintendent's Office

Phone: (707) 964-9000

Fax: (707) 964-6219

Email: vbazor@mcoe.us