Special Education Local Plan Area (SELPA)

SELPA Logo Large

The Mendocino County SELPA serves approximately 1,700 of the 12,000 students in Mendocino County’s public schools. 

There are approximately 133 SELPAs in the State, ranging in size from those fewer than a 1,000 students to those serving more than 10,000 students. Each SELPA must have an Administrative Unit (AU) which is the legal entity that receives funds and is responsible for seeing that every eligible child received a Free Appropriate Public Education (FAPE). The Mendocino County Office of Education is the AU for the Mendocino County SELPA.

The Mendocino County SELPA provides support to the districts in the following areas:

  • Program Development
  • Program Availability to all Students with Disabilities
  • Professional Development
  • Parent Support and Training
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Interagency Collaboration
  • Management Information System (MIS)
  • Fiscal Allocation and Monitoring

For additional information or resources, please contact the SELPA office at (707) 467-5166.

For Procedural Safeguards, please visit our Legal Disclosures page. 

MISSION

The mission of the Mendocino County SELPA is to support special education students in achieving a high level of academic/functional performance according to national, state, and local standards. To assure this outcome, the SELPA department will provide information, resources and support to students, parents, and all schools within our county.

VISION

All students can learn and students with disabilities must be given an equal opportunity to become contributing members of their community. 

STAFF

Inland Office

Gina Danner, Executive Director

SELPA

Phone: (707) 467-5167

Email: gdanner@mcoe.us

Melinda Maxwell, Program & Fiscal Analyst

SELPA

Phone: (707) 467-5166

Email: mmaxwell@mcoe.us

Denise Keller, Behavior Specialist

SELPA

Phone: (707) 467-5169

Email: dkeller@mcoe.us

Ryan Weidaw, Program Specialist

SELPA

Phone: (707) 467-5196

Email: rweidaw@mcoe.us

Michela Figini-Meyers, Program Specialist

SELPA

Phone: (707) 467-5175

Email: michela@mcoe.us

Marisa Sizemore, Program Specialist

SELPA

Phone: (707) 467-5178

Email: msizemore@mcoe.us

Kristina Lewis, Program Manager, WorkAbility I / Transition Partnership Programs

SELPA

Phone: (707) 467-5171

Email: klewis@mcoe.us

Teresa Erickson, Program Secretary, WorkAbility I / Transition Partnership Programs

SELPA

Phone: (707) 467-5176

Email: terickson@mcoe.us

Coast Office

Amy Hanson, Program Specialist

SELPA

Phone: (707) 467-5065

Email: ahanson@mcoe.us

Veronica Bazor, Administrative Secretary - Coast

Superintendent's Office

Phone: (707) 467-5060

Fax: (707) 964-6219

Email: vbazor@mcoe.us