Business and Administrative Services

The Mendocino County Office of Education (MCOE) Business Services Department is the fiscal oversight division of the county superintendent of schools. Our department is responsible for the regulatory supervision and maintenance of sound fiscal practices at the 12 school districts that serve more than 12,000 K-12 students in Mendocino County. We also provide financial services to the 10 charter schools (serving another 1,200 K-12 students), Mendocino-Lake Community College and the Mendocino County Youth Project.

We are mandated by law under Education Code Section 1240 and Assembly Bill 1200 to provide district fiscal oversight. We are obligated to review district budgets and other financial reports to ensure our school districts can continue to meet their financial commitments in order to provide and maintain quality educational programs throughout Mendocino County. We essentially provide a fiscal safety net for our school districts and the students they serve.

We provide various financial services, many of which are required by law, such as, budget and LCAP review and approval, attendance accounting, financial reporting, public disclosures, employee agreements, cash flow projections, and resolution of audit findings. Other services include financial software for payroll processing, STRS/PERS retirement reporting, vendor payments, group insurance plans, and other related accounting services. As part of our district support system, we review, interpret and communicate legislative laws, Education Code, and other legal issues to district administrators and staff to ensure compliance with the numerous and various regulations. We also oversee the development, monitoring and forecasting of the revenue and expenditure budgets of all funds in MCOE district and county programs and provide financial services training as needed.

MISSION 

Our mission is to support our Local Educational Agencies in a professional and ethical manner, partnering with each agency to develop fiscal solutions that allow us to adhere to and maintain the required regulatory compliance standard.

STAFF

Inland Office

Becky Jeffries, Assistant Superintendent of Business & Administrative Services

Business & Administrative Services

Phone: (707) 467-5030

Email: bjeffries@mcoe.us

Debbie Courtney, Director-Internal Business

Business & Administrative Services

Phone: (707) 467-5041

Email: dcourtney@mcoe.us

Meg Kailikole, Director-External Business

Business & Administrative Services

Phone: (707) 467-5043

Email: megk@mcoe.us

Denise Rakes, Business Manager

Business & Administrative Services

Phone: (707) 467-5044

Email: drakes@mcoe.us

Katie Pearson, Executive Assistant

Business and Administrative Services

Phone: (707) 467-5033

Email: katiep@mcoe.us

Alicia Galliani, Accountant

Business Services

Phone: (707)467-5045

Email: aliciag@mcoe.us

Suzanne Steely, Accountant

Business Services

Phone: (707) 467-5036

Email: ssteely@mcoe.us

Craig Perry, Accounting Technician

Business & Administrative Services

Phone: (707) 467-5032

Email: cperry@mcoe.us

Debbi Conner, Manager-MAA/Medi-Cal

Business & Administrative Services

Phone: (707) 467-5026

Email: dconner@mcoe.us

Robyn Ruiz, Accounts Payable/Accounts Receivable

Business & Administrative Services

Phone: (707) 467-5039

Email: robyn@mcoe.us

Roberta Watkins, Accounting Technician

Business & Administrative Services

Phone: (707) 467-5050

Email: rwatkins@mcoe.us

Lorri Daly, Accounting Technician

Business & Administrative Services

Phone: (707) 467-5038

Email: ldaly@mcoe.us

Patty Gallo, Accountant

Business & Administrative Services

Phone: (707) 467-5048

Email: pgallo@mcoe.us

Patty Ashmore, Accounting Technician

Business & Administrative Services

Phone: (707) 467-5031

Email: pashmore@mcoe.us

Jennifer Belveal, Accounting Technician

Business & Administrative Services

Phone: (707) 467-5049

Email: jaiken@mcoe.us

Michelle Ebert, Accounting Technician

Business & Administrative Services

Phone: (707) 467-5037

Email: mebert@mcoe.us

Carina Lopez, Data Control Technician-Calpads, SEIS, AERIES

Business & Administrative Services

Phone: (707) 467-5084

Email: clopez@mcoe.us

Teri Nelson, Data Control Technician-Calpads, SEIS, AERIES

Business & Administrative Services

Phone: (707) 467-5083

Email: tnelson@mcoe.us

Traci Doster, Confidential Administrative Secretary

Business & Administrative Services

Phone: (707) 467-5030

Email: tdoster@mcoe.us

Nichole Phillips, Communications Officer

Business & Administrative Services

Phone: (707) 467-5029

Email: nphillips@mcoe.us