Alternative Education

The Alternative Education Program serves students in its Court Schools, County Community Schools, and Independent Study Program. These programs can serve approximately 80 enrolled students at any one time at 3 sites in the Ukiah. In 1977, the state legislature passed AB915, which became the County Community Schools Act to enroll: Pupils who have been expelled from school; Pupils who have been referred by a School Attendance Review Board (SARB); Pupils who are on juvenile probation or court wards; Pupils who are homeless.

Our Single Plan for Student Achievement provides a template for student learning. Alternative Education teachers have been participating in Professional Learning Communities (PLC) model. We use 4 basic questions to guide all of our work to educate our students.

  1. What do we want our students to know?
  2. How will we know they have learned it?
  3. How will we engage all students in relevant learning?
  4. What will we do if they do or do not learn it?

MISSION

To provide an academically challenging, safe, respectful, and healthy environment that prepares our students to earn their high school diploma and prepare for success in the postsecondary world, academically, socially, and emotionally.

We support our student in this endeavor by delivering a relevant and rigorous education to meet the terms of their expulsion, probation, and/or SARB contracts so they may return to their home district. We are committed to closing the achievement gap for all our students. We empower our students by modeling the value of lifelong learning and by connecting to students, parents, and the community.

VISION

It is our vision to prepare students to enter the postsecondary world as successful citizens.

GOALS

  1. Improve learning for all students in the juvenile court and community school program.
  2. Increase student attendance, reduce school suspensions and increase the sense of safety and school connectedness among students to increase instructional opportunities for all students.
  3. All students will be prepared for Career and College by increasing their access to Career Technical Education, Career Counseling, Workforce Development activities and participating in field trips to post-secondary institutions.
  4. Increase parent participation in activities that support student learning.
LOCAL CONTROL & ACCOUNTABILITY PLAN (LCAP)

Click HERE to view approved LCAP.

Triennial Plan for Expelled Pupils Mendocino

2015 Triennial Plan for Expelled Pupils Mendocino

2018 Triennial Plan for Expelled Pupils Mendocino

STAFF

Inland Office

Thomas Rawles, Principal

Alternative Education

Phone: (707) 901-9058

Email: trawles@mcoe.us

Isaac Ramey, Director

Special Education

Phone: (707) 467-5172

Email: iramey@mcoe.us

Leah Nidros, Administrative Secretary-Registrar

Alternative Education

Phone: (707) 901-9055

Email: lnidros@mcoe.us

Mike Nemeth, Guidance Counselor

Alternative Education

Phone: (707) 901-9046

Email: mnemeth@mcoe.us

Mindi Ramos, Teacher

Alternative Education

Phone: (707) 901-9051

Email: mramos@mcoe.us

Jeanne Metcalf-Budrow, Teacher

Alternative Education

Phone: (707) 901-9047

Email: jmetcalf@mcoe.us

Jonna Weidaw, Teacher

Alternative Education

Phone: (707) 901-9045

Email: jweidaw@mcoe.us

Nina Ravitz, Resource Specialist

Alternative Education

Phone: (707) 463-6554

Email: nravitz@mcoe.us

Fernando Adams, Student Accountability Specialist

Alternative Education

Phone: (707) 901-9048

Email: fadams@mcoe.us

Juan Orozco, Instructional Paraprofessional

Alternative Education

Phone: (707) 901-9051

Email: jorozco@mcoe.us

Sonseeahray Hatcher, Instructional Paraprofessional

Alternative Education

Phone: (707) 901-9047

Email: shatcher@mcoe.us