Special Education

The Special Education Department is comprised of:

The Special Education department offers specialized instructional services for children ages birth to 22 who have physical, emotional, or mental disabilities. The department operates a countywide day treatment program and provides daily classroom itinerant instruction for over 120 of the county’s most severely disabled school-age students. The department oversees Non-Public Schools program and administers and funds educational services for students residing in licensed children’s institutions.

The Special Education staff strives to provide each student with a high-quality, standards-based educational experience that prepares them for successful transition to the highest possible level of independence. The department has approximately 50 employees who deliver services in the 12 districts and community sites within Mendocino County. Those services include special day classes, speech and language therapy, school psychologist services, occupational and vocational training, counseling, and assessments.

MISSION 

The Special Education Department provides direct services to students identified with a variety of disabilities within Mendocino County School, provides leadership and guidance to help children with Individualized Educational Plan (IEP’s) to be included in educational opportunities that will aide in the development of the skills needed to participate successfully and productively in their community now and in the future.

VISION

Educational Success for All Students

STAFF

Inland Office

Isaac Ramey, Director

Special Education

Phone: (707) 467-5172

Email: iramey@mcoe.us

Sharon Foster, Manager

Special Education

Phone: (707) 467-5181

Email: sfoster@mcoe.us

Trina Wagar, Administrative Secretary

Special Education

Phone: (707) 467-5187

Email: twagar@mcoe.us

Vivian White, School Nurse

Special Education

Phone: (707) 467-5184

Email: vwhite@mcoe.us

Gillian Welsby, School Psychologist Intern

Special Education

Phone: (707) 467-2536

Email: gwelsby@mcoe.us

Mary Gulyas, School Psychologist

Special Education

Phone: (707) 467-5194

Email: mgulyas@mcoe.us

Coast Office

Veronica Bazor, Administrative Secretary - Coast

Superintendent's Office

Phone: (707) 467-5060

Fax: (707) 964-6219

Email: vbazor@mcoe.us